Monday, September 22, 2008

Dntel - Dumb Luck

Best known as the "not Ben Gibbard" half of The Postal Service, Jimmy Tamborello delivered this album as his debut on Sub Pop last year. It features a venerable whos-who of indie pop, from Rilo Kiley's Jenny Lewis to Lali Puna to Bright Eyes' Conor Oberst. The record has the classic Tamborello staggered sampling (shotgunned throughout Give Up), and the guest vocalists provide the glue that ties his broken beats, much in the same way Gibbard did for the Postal Service. A great, relaxing album.

1. Dumb Luck
2. To a Fault (ft. Grizzly Bear)
3. I'd Like To Know (ft. Lali Puna)
4. Roll On (ft. Jenny Lewis)
5. The Distance (ft. Arthur & Yu)
6. Rock My Boat (ft. Mia Doi Todd)
7. Natural Resources (ft. Fog)
8. Breakfast In Bed (ft. Conor Oberst)
9. Dreams (ft. Mystic Chords of Memory)


No comments: