Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Bright Eyes - Lifted or The Story Is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground

Yes, I know, more indie. But the masses have spoken, and this was requested. People either like or hate Mr. Oberst's Bright Eyes. Perosnally, I like the raw feel of his songs, invientive lyrics, and the way he constructs vignettes within the confines of each track. This album in particular encapsulates his classic slow-to-quick tempo, and the accompanying vocals only furthers the story he's trying to push through your speakers. To me, this is by far the best Bright Eyes album released to date.

1. The Big Picture
2. Method Acting
3. False Advertising
4. You Will. You? Will. You? Will. You? Will.
5. Lover I Don't Have To Love
6. Bowl Of Oranges
7. Don't Know When But A Day Is Gonna Come
8. Nothing Gets Crossed Out
9. Make War
10. Waste Of Paint
11. From A Balance Beam
12. Laura Laurent
13. Let's Not Sh*t Ourselves (To Love And To Be Loved)


No comments: